Tips for Language Differences?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Tips for Language Differences?

Hello all,
      I'm still new to the game here and have been loving it thus far! Each match I have joined, I have come across individuals that speak a different language than me (I'm in english). So far I dont know anybody that plays this game, so I rely completely on making friends with randoms and forming coalitions with what I have. I have two questions regarding language barriers in the game chat:

- When I see a message that has clearly been translated from another language, does CON translate automatically? or is it up to the individual to translate through Google or whatever?

- Do you have any tips for communicating to players of another language? So far I can only think of: eliminating all slang, make sure spelling is correct, keep it concise and to the point.
      but, that's just my 2 cents' worth
    • Honestly, in my short time of playing, I have rarely seen any foreign languages. However, if you do see a foreign language message, I would probably use Google Translate. I would use English most of the time, but I would use Google Translate only if someone responds in the same language.
      "Dealer of Death has counted to infinity... twice"
      -Kurtvonstein
    • Here's the basic gist of the language system we're using in CON:WW3

Flashpoint maps (being the game-starting-map) are "locked" in local language, meaning if you are eg. American, then there will be predominately English speaking players on this map. Same for French, German, Italian etc. if you would like to eg. play an Italian Flashpoint game as American, you would need to change your game's language to Italian to see these Italian Flashpoint maps. This can be done via the language selector on your game home page.