Nerf Coalition size

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Nerf Coalition size

Hey,

I've been playing for several months now and love the game. I usually play WW3 or Flashpoint.

The most satisfying games have been the coalition conquests. But, not all of them are satisfying:

1) Coalitions where no one chats are almost as dull as playing on my own.

2) Coalitions that steamroll the rest of the solo players are also a bit boring. Yes, I see my numbers grow and research more unit types, but the lack of competition after day 20 or 30 brings boredom.

3) The best games for me pitted four or five major, active coalitions with lots of strategy and tactical chatter within my team.

4) Most often in games, I see two or three coalitions with four or five members each, plus a few duo coalitions. That is only a maximum 3x5=15 countries in large coalitions, out of 64 players.

5) Several times I have seen only a single coalition form, consisting of the five strongest players at around day 15 or 20. Together they have maybe 200-300 cities. Well folks, there you now have at day 20 your inevitable winner of the game. People want to be safe and obtain an easy win, so it is natural to wait to see who is winning, then make a safe bet joining other strong players. For the other players, yes we can put up a good but fruitless fight, but for both sides, wouldn't it be better to have ongoing competition from start to finish?

My suggestion is to reduce the number of members of a coalition from the current five, down to four or even three. Or, limit by a measure such as a maximum VPs or number of cities at the time of joining, to encourage more coalitions, or early commitments to a coalition. Maybe even a bonus (resource production, mobilization time or research time) by being part of a coalition early in the game.

Your thoughts please!