Suggestion: Warhead overhaul

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Suggestion: Warhead overhaul

I am relatively still new to this game and there is something bothering me about warheads and missiles. Here are the stats for cruise missiles currently: Lvl 1 cruise missiles use 1 warhead and deal 30 dmg to armor. At lvl 4, they use 2 warheads and deal 55 dmg to armor. By lvl 6 they use 2 warheads and deal 70 dmg to armor. By upgrading my missiles, dmg per warhead goes from 30 to 27.5, then up to 35. Why? The damage increase is not at all worth the research put in. The only benefits are the added speed and health of the missiles. I propose these changes:
      -Damage based on warhead, not launch platform, and each warhead type has its own research line
      -To increase the damage of your missiles, research more advanced warheads
      -Each type of missile has a fixed warhead count (1 for CM, 3 for BM and 6 for ICBM)
      -Research of the missiles themselves focus on increasing their performance

This way, if you want to do more damage, your make better warheads, and if you want better missiles, you can develop them. Sure, you can shove a maxed nuke warhead in a low tech CM, but you won’t be able to do much with if your CM can’t reach very far!

Granted, I don’t know how well this would work. Something still needs to be done about the whole “You get less dmg per warhead” issue though
      Yee Haw
    • It was how they worked in the past.

Currently, the loss in efficiency in damage output is explained by the sharp increase in HP.

T1 : missile are vulnerable and efficient
      T2 : missiles become expensive but go through more anti-air

And it's actually the thing to consider when upgrading Cms to T2.

When your missiles don't go through, making your damage output effective equal to 0 (and not 30), you put them T2, and suddenly, you get a damage output :D